Blackened Post-Rock / Shoegaze / Noise Rock - Manchester, UK
Surviving Sounds // Trepanation Recordings

"Post-black metal that is as vicious as it is emotionally charged, with some moments of real grace." ~ The Sound Not The Word 


Photo Credit: Rich Smith - Digital Bath

AGVIRRE are a blackened post-rock band from Manchester, UK. Formed in 2018, Agvirre perform textured progressive songs enhanced with soaring violin and haunting synths, capturing a combination of experimental flourishes and a keen ear for strong melodies. Their lengthy, atmospheric songs ebb and flow through both ferocious and dreamy passages. Agvirre's lyrics explore themes of mental illness, broken relationships, anxiety, grief and trauma.

In 2019 Agvirre caught the attention of DIY labels Surviving Sounds and Trepanation Recordings who co-released their debut EP Silence on physical formats in January 2020 to wide critical acclaim, with glowing praise from publications including Cvlt Nation, Metal Hammer, Distorted Sound, Astral Noize, The Quietus and more. In April 2021, Agvirre released a split vinyl single Eye Of Mirrors with Sheffield based space rock band Dead Cosmonauts, which raised over £400 for Mind mental health charity.

Agvirre will be performing at Badgerfest 2021 in Manchester this October and will be releasing their next record in early 2021. 

Photo Credit: Johann Wierzbicki

 "Showcasing a willingness to think outside the box, the sound this band have forged here is highly impressive." ~ Distorted Sound Magazine

"The band weave a chaotic yet strangely beautiful wall of noise, with their anxious blend of black metal and post rock coming across as a lot less serene and polite than a lot of other bands currently mining this style."  ~ The Quietus

"This post-black UK trio take a rickety ride through inner turmoil" ~ Metal Hammer

FFO: Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Anna Von Hausswolff, Deafheaven, Swans, American Football.

Badger - Drums and percussion
Dave - Bass
Frenchie - Vocals, synths and electronics
Ricardo - Guitar and vocals